Western Mass Region
Home Awards Education Photo Albums
Home Awards Education

COVID-19 Information

The Western Massachusettes Region is following the guidance of the Eastern Division for the response to COVID-19 pandemic. Patrollers are recommended to regularly review the Eastern Division website for information and guidelines regarding our response to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Eastern Division Outstanding Patroller Award

Jim Miller (Butternut Ski Patrol) was presented the Eastern Division Outstanding Non-OEC Patroller for 2020 on October 24th by Eastern Division Director, Cal Goldsmith. Below is the bio for this award.

Non-OEC PATROLLER for 2020

This Patroller joined the NSP in the mid-80s and shortly after, attained Alpine senior status. Before the individual even became a Senior, they got involved in leadership roles as an Instructor in 2 disciplines. Still looking to contribute more, this person went on to become an Instructor Trainer in those disciplines, and became well known as the ‘ace instructor’ throughout the region.

In 2019, this individual spent over 60 hours off-hill providing instruction in both disciplines, while also putting in over 200 hours of on-hill patrolling. This Patroller’s dedication, attention to detail, and skills in organizing, found him rising through the administrative ranks to become a Division Program Supervisor. The individual even impacted the NSP by developing online skills review programs for a certain discipline.

Additionally, this Patroller also contributes greatly to his community. The individual teaches courses for the Red Cross and presents safety programs to local schools.

Even though this Patroller has devoted so much time to instruction and administrative responsibilities, the individual has never lost sight of the first and foremost responsibility: to be an active Patroller. It is for these reasons we offer congratulations to this year’s:

Eastern Division Outstanding Non-OEC Instructor
Butternut Patrol, Western Mass Region

From Left to Right: John Sober (WMR Awards), Gerry Polard (WMR Director), Cal Goldsmith (Eastern Division Director), Jim Miller (Award Recipient), Stew Bartner (Butternut Ski Patrol Director)

National Ski Patrol Eastern Division